Cookie Policy

Ricoh uses data collection tools such as cookies to provide you with a better experience when using this site. You can learn how to change these settings and get more information about cookies here.

Ricoh Director of Rugby of the Season shortlist announced

Ricoh Director of Rugby of the Season shortlist announced

Three Directors of Rugby who have enjoyed exceptional seasons have been shortlisted for the Ricoh Director of Rugby of the Season award.

Mark McCall, the three-time winner from Saracens is bidding for an unprecedented four awards alongside Exeter Chiefs’ Rob Baxter and Wasps’ Dai Young.

The shortlist is:

  • Rob Baxter – Exeter Chiefs
  • Mark McCall – Saracens Dai 
  • Young - Wasps

The shortlist was compiled by a panel of media professionals - Ben Coles (Planet Rugby), Jill Douglas (Freelance), Alastair Eykyn (BT Sport), Alex Lowe (The Times), Nick Purewal (Press Association), Chris Jones (BBC Radio), Stephen Jones (Sunday Times), Sarah Mockford (Rugby World), and Nick Mullins (BT Sport). They were joined by Paul Morgan (Premiership Rugby's Communications Director) who chaired the panel.

The winner will rub shoulders with the biggest names in English rugby at a glittering Aviva Premiership Rugby Awards ceremony at the Lancaster London Hotel, presented by BT Sport's Craig Doyle, on Wednesday 17 May.

Along with the winner of the Ricoh Director of Rugby of the Season, the winners of the following awards will also be announced:

  • Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Season
  • Aviva Community Player of the Season 
  • BT Sport Dream Team 
  • Gilbert Golden Boot 
  • Citizen Try of the Season 
  • Land Rover Discovery of the Season 
  • Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Player of the Series 
  • Trivento Top Try Scorer of the Season 
  • Women's Premiership Players’ Player of the Year

The winners will be announced first on Twitter via the @premrugby account. Use hashtag #AvivaPremAwards to join the conversation.

Previous Winners:
  • 2015-16 – Mark McCall (Saracens) 
  • 2014-15 Mike Ford (Bath Rugby) 
  • 2013-14 - Mark McCall (Saracens) 
  • 2012-13 - Mark McCall (Saracens)
  • 2011-12 - Rob Baxter (Exeter Chiefs) 
  • 2010-11 - Jim Mallinder (Northampton Saints) 
  • 2009-10 - Andy Key (Leeds Carnegie) 
  • 2008-09 - Richard Cockerill (Leicester Tigers) 
  • 2007-08 - Dean Ryan (Gloucester Rugby) 
  • 2006-07 - Pat Howard (Leicester Tigers) 
  • 2005-06 - Philippe Saint-Andre (Sale Sharks) 
  • 2004-05 - John Wells (Leicester Tigers) 
  • 2003-04 - John Connolly (Bath Rugby) 
  • 2002-03 - Warren Gatland (London Wasps) 
  • 2001-02 - Conor O'Shea and Brendan Venter (London Irish) 
  • 2000-01 - Dean Richards (Leicester Tigers) 
  • 1999-2000 - Andy Robinson (Bath Rugby)

Editors' notes:
Performances in Aviva Premiership Rugby are the prime driver for selection on the shortlist but those in European rugby are brought into consideration

Paul Morgan
Communications Director at Premiership Rugby
Tel: 07557477796
Twitter: @paulmorganrugby or @premrugby
Premiership Rugby, 7th Floor, Regal House, Twickenham, TW1 3QS

|About Ricoh|

Ricoh is empowering digital workplaces using innovative technologies and services enabling individuals to work smarter. For more than 80 years, Ricoh has been driving innovation and is a leading provider of document management solutions, IT services, commercial and industrial printing, digital cameras, and industrial systems. Headquartered in Tokyo, Ricoh Group operates in approximately 200 countries and regions. In the financial year ended March 2017, Ricoh Group had worldwide sales of 2,028 billion yen (approx. 18.2 billion USD). 

For further information, please visit

For further information, please contact: 
Ricoh UK Ltd
Jonathan Reader 
Tel: +44 (0) 1784 416 900 

Read our insights at:
Join us on Facebook: 
Follow us on 
Connect with us on LinkedIn:
Visit the Ricoh media centre at: